Centre for Philosophy of Time

Department of Philosophy - Università degli Studi di Milano

Aims and Scope





The Centre for Philosophy of Time (CPT) aims at advertising and promoting activities in the philosophy of time in Europe, by gathering professors, researchers and students in analytic philosophy who work on time-related subjects. The main goal of the CPT is to facilitate mutual collaboration in common projects and to foster the circulation of the results. To that effect, the CPT collaborates with the Philosophy of Time Society (PTS), and the Centre for Time (CT) as part of the International Association for the Philosophy of Time (IAPT).


The TIME-METHODS project will start on February 2016.

Post-doc positions in philosophy of time will be soon advertised.



Coordinator and founder: Giuliano Torrengo

Junior Adjunct Coordinators: Giacomo Andreoletti and Samuele Iaquinto

Senior Members: Elisa Paganini, Jonathan Tallant (University of Nottingham)

Phd-Students: Francesco Aloe, Valerio Buonomo, Flavio Baracco, Daria Vitasovic




Third annual meeting of the International Association for the Philosophy of Time

(a joint project of the Philosophy of Time Society [USA], the Centre for Time [Australia] and the Center for Philosophy of Time [Italy]).


June 10-11, 2016 at the Embassy Suites in downtown Winston-Salem, NC, USA. Two full days, with conference banquet the second night; arrive June 9, depart June 12.

There will be a number of $500 travel awards for best abstracts submitted by graduate students and non tenure track faculty.

Please send an abstract (300 words max) of your paper (reading time no more than 25 minutes) by email attachment to Adrian Bardon at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by March 15, 2016. Include name, institutional affiliation, and preferred email address on abstract. Indicate if you are eligible and wish to be considered for the travel awards described above.

In addition to paper sessions, several special sessions have already been arranged:

A panel session on quantum gravity and spacetime, which will feature Nick Huggett (Illinois-Chicago), Christian Wuthrich (Geneva), Alyssa Ney (UC-Davis), and Tiziana Vistarini (Colorado).

Another panel session on causation and time, which will feature Sara Bernstein (Duke), Heather Demarest (Oklahoma), Mathias Frisch (Hannover), and Nina Emery (Brown).

Finally, we have planned a formal debate between Kristie Miller (Sydney) and Graeme A. Forbes (Kent) on the question, “Is there a future for Growing Block Theory?”

Registration fee will be $75 US for tenured and tenure-track faculty, or international permanent equivalent; there will be no fee for graduate students and non-tenure-track, contingent, or retired faculty. 

Send registration fee in the form of a check made out to “WFU Philosophy” to:


Donna Simmons – Philosophy Dept.

Wake Forest University 

P.O. Box 7332

Winston Salem, NC 27109


A block of rooms has been reserved for attendees at the Embassy Suites at the conference rate of $129/night. Go to the following page to book a room:


TEL: +1-336-724-2300

You will have up until 30 days before the conference–or until the block of rooms has filled–to secure a room at this rate. Travel to and from airport (GSO) by shuttle has been arranged.


Contact Adrian Bardon at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with questions.




International Graduate Conference: The Metaphysics of Space, Time and Spacetime

University of Sassari (DADU), Alghero, Italy
5-6 July 2016

Keynote Speakers:

David Braddon-Mitchell (University of Sydney)
Kristie Miller (University of Sydney)
Jonathan Tallant (University of Nottingham)
Giuliano Torrengo (University of Milan)
Achille C. Varzi (Columbia University)

We welcome contributions on any topic related to metaphysics of space, time and spacetime, including (but not restricted to) the following:

- Mereology;

- Topology;

- Material Constitution;

- Location, Coincidence, Multi-Location;

- Persistence;

- Openness of the Future;

- Time-Travel;

- A-theory and B-theory of Time;

- Substantivalism vs Relationalism

- The Metaphysics of History and Geography, with attention to applications, e.g. ontology of GIS;

Submissions Guidelines:

We only accept submissions from current students and recent graduates from MA and PhD programs who received their degree in 2015 or 2016. Please send abstracts between 400-600 words (including 3-5 keywords) in a suitable form for blind review. Attached to the same e-mail please include a separate cover page with the title of the paper, your name, affiliation, academic position, contact details. Please send files either in .PDF or in .WORD format before 1st March 2016, at  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contributions should be suitable for 30 minutes presentation, followed by 15 minutes discussion.

The conference will be held in English.

There is no conference registration fee. We cannot cover travel or accommodation costs, but we will make agreements with local restaurants and hotels for all accepted participants.

Alghero is located in the island of Sardinia and is easily reachable by low-cost flight companies from all over Europe.


Progetto PRIN 2012 “Modelli e inferenze nella scienza” Unità di Ricerca dell’Università di Sassari;

CPT Center for Philosophy of Time (http://www.filosofia.unimi.it/cpt/). 

Under the auspices of: Department of Architecture, Design and Urban Planning University of Sassari (DADU), Doctoral School in Philosophy and Human Sciences University of Milan, Laboratorio di Epistemologia Applicata (LEA), SIFA (Società Italiana di Filosofia Analitica).

Scientific Committee: Fabio Bacchini (University of Sassari), Andrea Borghini (Holy Cross), David Braddon-Mitchell (University of Sydney), Claudio Calosi (University of Neuchatel), Stefano Caputo (University of Sassari), Elena Casetta (University of Lisbon), Massimo Dell’Utri (University of Sassari), Maureen Donnelly (Buffalo University), Kristie Miller (University of Sydney), Jonathan Tallant (University of Nottingham), Giuliano Torrengo (University of Milan), Achille C. Varzi (Columbia University).